Is there anything as frustrating in betting as researching a race only for one of your selections to then be declared a non-runner?
What should you do: re-place the wager with that pick omitted, or let your original bet run?
The answer on what to do if there’s a non-runner in your forecast or tricast bet is revealed below.
Non-Runner Rules In Betting
If you back a single horse in a win-only or each-way market that is then declared a non-runner, the bet will be declared void and you’ll get your stake back.
But when non-runners form part of a multiple bet such as a forecast or tricast, the rules on what happens next vary from one bookmaker to another.
The rules also differ between the bet types, too, as explained below.
What Happens to My Forecast Bet If There’s a Non-Runner?
Where you have placed a forecast bet, i.e. you’ve declared which horses you think will finish first and second, in most cases wagers are declared void when one or more of your selections is the non-runner.
However, this is not an absolute rule. For example, Coral and Ladbrokes will instead revert your bet to a win single for the horse you have backed that remains in the field.
If you place a forecast bet and another horse(s) other than yours is withdrawn, it’s likely that your picks will remain live however they may be subject to a Rule 4 deduction.
Forecast bets are only permitted in races of three runners or more. So, if you have bet on a race and non-runners take the field size down to two, your stake will be refunded and your bet voided.
What Happens to My Tricast Bet If There’s a Non-Runner?
Similar rules apply to your tricast bets in the event of a non-runner. If two of your fancies are withdrawn, you’ll likely receive a full refund – again, it’s worth noting that some firms, such as Coral and Ladbrokes, will instead turn your tricast into a win single on the remaining pick.
If it’s another horse in the field that is declared a non-runner, your tricast bet will stand but with a likely Rule 4 deduction.
As with a forecast, if the total number of runners in the field drops below four then your tricast will be voided.
Here’s another important distinction. If one of your three picks is withdrawn from the race, your bet may well stand as a forecast in the order you declared in your tricast. If it does, your odds and payout will be calculated using the Computer Straight Forecast (CSF) method.
It’s worth checking with your bookmakers’ terms and conditions in this scenario, because sometimes your bet will be voided instead.
What Happens to My Combination Bet If There’s a Non-Runner?
There’s also the option to place a combination forecast or tricast bet. If you pick out three horses or greyhounds to finish 1-2 in any order (combi forecast) or 1-2-3 in any order (combi tricast), the non-runner will be removed from your betslip and the remaining duo left to stand as a combi forecast.
If you play in the above markets with four selections, your bet will stand with your three remaining picks.
There’s an anomaly here, too. With some bookmakers, where one of your three combination picks is declared a non-runner, your stake will be split between a reverse forecast and win-only singles on the two remaining fancies.
It’s worth reiterating that if you are unsure of what will happen in the event of a non-runner, you should consult the rules and terms of your chosen bookmaker.